I’ll get to it tomorrow


I haven’t had a drink in a while
Haven’t finished the poem I started last week
Haven’t called back to the person whose call I missed
I think I’ll get to it tomorrow

Haven’t sent the email I was supposed to send yesterday
Haven’t checked my Mail Box for a while
Haven’t trimmed my beard
Haven’t yet started the Novel that I have dreamt writing 

The kitchen floor stinks
Haven’t done no cleaning in a while
Haven’t bathed the body nor the soul
May be I’ll get to it tomorrow.

I haven’t thought about my future
Haven’t been learning from the past
Haven’t paid my bills
Haven’t brought the groceries I so dearly need
Maybe I will get to it tomorrow.

Haven’t felt sorry for the mistakes I have made
Haven’t apologised to the people I offended
Haven’t thanked the girl who complimented my looks
Maybe I will get to it tomorrow

I haven’t prayed for the things I want
Haven’t been gracious for the things I have
Haven’t dreamt, haven’t imagined a single thing
Maybe I will get to it tomorrow

Wanted to abuse the guy who called me procastinator
Haven’t come up with the right words yet
Wanted to go for a trip somewhere
Haven’t Figured out the place i want to go
Maybe I will get to it tomorrow

Haven’t talked to my best friends
Haven’t been social in a while
I want to go out and have some fun
Haven’t been able to leave my bed
I will get to it tomorrow

I will get to it tomorrow
I promise myself
But oh the promises I made myself before
Haven’t given them a thought in a while
I will get to them surely by tomorrow

I wanted to use some rhyme scheme in this poem
Wanted to give it a lyrical flow
Couldn’t synchronise my thoughts with my pen
Maybe I will get to it tomorrow.

One thought on “I’ll get to it tomorrow

Leave a Reply

