The Obligation of Parting


Even before I met you
We had a past and a future
written in our far fetched conversations

I like to think you as an angel
of peace and charm
to bring melody to my being
The symphony of a happy life

But I did not knew
That you were like a mischievous child
That you wouldn’t realize your potential

That you would paint a scenery
and despoil the pastels
and disperse the needless pigments
all over the sheet.

That you would finish a sonnet
with all the elements coerced
But would plagiarize it with
Shakespearean phrases

That child in you
has ruined the centuries of past
that I blindly believed to be true
You are not a spouse of my dreams
but a true professor of actuality

Bitter sacrifice, Callous necessity

Leave a Reply

