I was lucky


My mother said I was lucky
But my birth didn’t end her misery
No gold, no sapphires were added
in her barren pendant collection.

My father said I was lucky
But my blessings couldn’t end his sufferings
The fights for bread and butter
His dreams of being rich, still breathing in the dark.

My brother said I was lucky
But I couldn’t yet buy a smile for him
His pale body fills me with dismay
The vision yet to find a heaven

My sister said I was lucky
But I never saw her wearing fashion
I could never end her hardships
She still wears a grin, ignorant to my blight

I thought may be I am lucky
thatswhy I have never tasted pain
But it was always there
my luck lied in my visionlessness.

 

 

Leave a Reply

